Kayleigh – Project Manager (USA)

Team Spotlight

Kayleigh – Project Manager (USA)

Team Spotlight

In exciting news for JET as we open up an office in the US, Kayleigh will become our first Project Manager based across the Atlantic, managing registration at our US events.

When did you join JET?

I met Oliver and Lewis in December 2022 and worked on my first event in January 2023.

Where are you based?

Houston, Texas. I relocated here from London with my British partner in Feb 2023.

What’s your career history?

I’ve always had many passions and my work history reflects that. After graduating from Newcastle University I moved to London and worked my first (and only) desk job at a tech start-up. When I turned 22 I quit and set up as a freelance artist, eventually opening my own studio which I ran for a number of years. Feeling a call to explore more of the world, at 28 I packed up the paintbrushes, retrained as a deckhand and travelled the world working onboard superyachts. Now at 30 and back on dry land, I’m pursuing a long-standing call to the events industry. 

What have been your impressions of the events industry?

That it’s full of people who are also looking for something a little less run-of-the-mill from work and from life.

If you were going to run an event, what would it be?

I grew up in the countryside in a beautiful part of the Midlands. The rolling hills and farmland would make a naturally immersive and secluded space for an intimate event. Given the opportunity, I’d create a small rural summer festival in a place of natural beauty.

The song you’d sing at karaoke?

You probably wouldn’t catch me singing at Karaoke, but if I had to choose I’d throwback to summer 2000 – ‘7 Days’ by Craig David.

Worst job you’ve had (hopefully not this one 😉)?

I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty but I do hate bad smells. So agreeing to spend a whole summer power-washing horse stables during a heatwave in a tin roof barn for a tenner a day is probably up there. Bad smells aside, I did get to ride a lot of horses!

Favourite Film?

The Wolf of Wall Street.

Favourite Food?

Anything cooked on a BBQ.

Favourite Drink?

A cup of tea (lots of milk and one sugar please).

Favourite Holiday/Place to go on holiday?

Although I’ve only been twice, skiing holidays are up there for me. The combination of mountain views, adrenalin and loose apres ski events is a winner.

If you could travel anywhere in the world tomorrow, where would you go?

Now that we are Stateside, I’d jump in the car and head for Mexico!

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

My partner is teaching me to play pool. It’s my latest obsession and I’m aiming to play for money by the summer.

What one thing could you never give up?

Notes app on my phone, way too useful!

Your biggest achievement?

Finishing law school. It was 3 years of intense study on a subject I soon realised I found both boring and complex. I felt like an art student who walked into advanced maths class and keeping motivated to complete the course was challenging. I graduated with a 2:1 and was proud to have put my mind to something difficult.

Tell us something we don’t know about you.

I can drive a boat!

Follow Kayleigh on LinkedIn

If you’d like to join our team, please check out our careers page for the latest vacancies.